0 votes

Hello,

There's a user that is neither part of "Everyone" group nor has workflow assigned to his profile in Conficy, but even though the workflow is still triggered for him, so what is the reason?

Best Regards.

asked in WorkFlow / Serverscript by (559 points)

1 Answer

0 votes
Best answer

Hello,

We found that Efficy considers (can't change this) the workflow that's set for "Everyone" group is the default one for all users, unless another specific workflow is assigned in user profile. So if there's no workflow defined in user's profile then the one defined in "Everyone" group is considered.

to overcome this issue, we create an empty dummy workflow and assign it to the user so nothing is triggered for that user specifically.

Best Regards.

answered by (559 points)
Note that this is not considered as an issue, but really desired behavior. The opposite (assigning a workflow for each user) would be a configuration hell.
Indeed Kristof, it would be hell, but my the customer was assuming (and i assumed the same) that if a user was removed from everyone group then the workflow of that group shouldn't be applied. it's common normal expectation. so indeed it's not an issue, but it needs to be clarified.
Thanks.
Best Regards.
It's a bit weird indeed, but so is removing someone from everyone group, i consider it also as bad design
1,249 questions
1,519 answers
1,859 comments
328 users